The association has appointed an NABH Quality Committee to provide perspective on quality issues to the NABH Board of Trustees and to enhance the association’s ongoing work with other national organizations (such as the National Quality Forum, The Joint Commission, and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services).

The committee includes:


  • Frank A. Ghinassi, Ph.D., A.B.P.P., Rutgers University Behavioral Health Care/RWJBarnabas Health, NJ


  • Marianne Birmingham, Vivant Behavioral Healthcare, AZ
  • Brian Brooker, DHSc, RN-BC, NE-BC, M.H.A., H.A.C.P., C.A.R.T., Summit Behavioral Healthcare, TN
  • Alisa B. Busch, M.D., M.S., McLean Hospital, MA
  • Pat Connell, R.N., M.B.A., F.A.C.H.E., C.BH.E., C.H.C., Boys Town Behavioral Health Division, NE
  • Tom Flanagan, Center for Behavioral Health, MO
  • Frank G. Fortunati, Jr., M.D., J.D., Yale New Haven Psychiatric Hospital, CT
  • Mark Friedlander, M.D., M.B.A., Universal Health Services, Inc., PA
  • Paul M. Heffington, L.C.S.W., R.N., A.P.R.N., Community Health Systems, TN
  • Karen Johnson, M.S.W., Universal Health Services, Inc., IL
  • Elisabeth Kunkel, M.D., Pennsylvania Psychiatric Institute, PA
  • Caitlin Lewis, Recovery Centers of America, PA
  • Stacy Miller, Universal Health Services, Inc., TX
  • Ruth Moore, CC.E.P., Acadia Healthcare, Inc., CA
  • Norman Ng, M.A., L.C.A.D.C., C.P.H.Q., Spring Harbor Hospital, ME
  • Becky Phillips, M.A., L.M.F.T., Kindred Behavioral Health, KY
  • Matt Stanley, D.O., Avera McKennan Behavioral Health Services, SD
  • Deborah Weidner, M.D., M.B.A., Hartford HealthCare, CT

Staff Liaisons:

  • Rochelle Archuleta, National Association for Behavioral Healthcare
  • Shawn Coughlin, National Association for Behavioral Healthcare