With addiction treatment a major service provided by its members, the National Association for Behavioral Healthcare (NABH) Board established the NABH Addiction Treatment Committee. The committee provides a forum within the association for discussion and recommendation of action plans related to issues affecting addiction treatment providers and the patients they serve.  The committee draws its membership from the entire spectrum of addiction treatment providers, including organizations that deliver hospital, residential, and outpatient levels of care within both large multi-facility systems and single-facility organizations.

The committee works to:

  • advocate for improved insurance coverage, patient access, and payment/reimbursement for addiction treatment services;
  • raise the importance and visibility of addiction treatment on the national agenda (as well as within the association) and works with members on state-level issues;
  • build coalitions in support of addiction treatment policy issues;
  • evaluate and foster understanding of how addiction treatment fits into broader healthcare reform;
  • inform members about and promote the integration of addiction and mental health treatment;
  • promote the integration of substance use treatment and mental health treatment in public policy, in regulation, and with payers;
  • foster networking on critical issues (such as clinical care, quality, administration, financing, accreditation, and more).

The committee includes:


  • Jeffrey W. Hillis, M.B.A., J.D., President, AdCare Hospital, MA


  • James Bailey, Chief Operating Officer, Discovery Behavioral Health, CA
  • Ellen-Jo Boschert, Chief Operating Officer & Chief Experience Officer, New Season/Colonial Management Group, LP
  • John Boyd, PsyD., F.A.C.H.E., Chief Executive Officer, Sutter Health, System Mental Health Services, CA
  • Mark Cardillo, L.C.S.W., Program Director, Tampa Community Hospital, Hospital Corporation of America (HCA), FL
  • Deni Carise, Ph.D., Chief Scientific Officer, Recovery Centers of America, PA
  • Michael Cartwright, Chairman/CEO, American Addiction Centers, TN
  • Stephen P. Fahey, Consultant-Addiction Services, Yale New Haven Psychiatric Hospital, CT
  • Alexander (Alex) S. Gnilka, Ph.D., L.P.C.S., C.E.A.P., S.A.P., Assistant Vice President – Addiction Medicine Services, Atrium Health’s Behavioral Health Services, NC
  • Roxane Harcourt, L.C.S.W., L.M.F.T., Interim Administrator, UF Health Shands Psychiatric Hospital, FL
  • Gay C. Hartigan, Executive Vice President/COO, Liberty Behavioral Management Corp., NJ
  • David Hillis, F.A.C.H.E., Chairman & CEO, AdCare , MA
  • Larkin Hoyt Gill, Psy.D., Director of Outpatient Services, Sharp Mesa Vista Hospital, CA
  • Tom Kenny, M.B.A., Vice President of Operations, Sequel Youth and Family Services, AL
  • Michelle Maloney, PhD, LPC, CAADC, Executive Director of Addiction Services, Rogers Behavioral Health, WI
  • Greg Marotta, Chief Executive Officer, CleanSlate Centers, Inc., TN
  • Patrice Wallace-Moore, Chief Executive Officer, Sr. VP of Substance Abuse Services, Arms Acres, NY
  • Matthew Morgan, President & CEO, Addiction Campuses, TN
  • Siobhan Morse, Director of Clinical Services/Research-Special Projects, TN
  • Tammy J. Pietrzak, RN-BC, Regional Clinical Director, Community Health Systems, TN
  • Joe Pritchard, Chief Executive Officer, Pinnacle Treatment Centers, Inc., NJ
  • Karla Quinn, Vice President, Clinical Operations, CenterPointe Behavioral Health System, MO
  • Kim Sanderson, President CTC Group, Acadia Healthcare, Inc., TN
  • Debbie Sanford, M.S., M.B.A., Administrator, Pine Grove Behavioral Health, MS
  • Francis Sauvageau, Chief Executive Officer, New Season/Colonial Management Group, LP, FL
  • Jean W. Scallon, M.A., F.A.C.H.E., Regional Vice-President, Signature Healthcare Services, LLC
  • Dominic Sirianni, L.M.H.C., C.A.P., Delphi Behavioral Health Group, FL
  • Phil Spencer, Chief Executive Officer, Springstone, Inc., KY
  • Nick Stavros, Chief Executive Officer, Community Medical Services, AZ
  • E. Daniel Thomas, Chief Operating Officer, Sun Behavioral Health, NJ
  • Sean Walsh, CEO, Meadows Behavioral Healthcare, AZ

Staff Liaisons:

  • Sarah A. Wattenberg, M.S.W., Director of Quality and Addiction Services, National Association for Behavioral Healthcare, Washington, DC